# Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+: specs and pinout

> Single-board computer with a 64-bit quad-core 1.4 GHz processor, 1 GB RAM, dual-band Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.2, Gigabit Ethernet over USB 2.0, four USB…

[HTML version](https://soldr.ai/docs/boards/raspberry-pi-3-model-b-plus)

[Docs](https://soldr.ai/docs) / [Boards](https://soldr.ai/docs/boards)

Single-board computer with a 64-bit quad-core 1.4 GHz processor, 1 GB RAM, dual-band Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.2, Gigabit Ethernet over USB 2.0, four USB 2.0 ports, HDMI and a 40-pin GPIO header.

Every value cites its sourceOfficial pinout

[Buy on Compoden](https://compoden.com/products/raspberry-pi-3-model-b-14ghz-64-bit-quad-core-board)

## Specs

| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Broadcom BCM2837B0, Cortex-A53 64-bit SoC @ 1.4GHz | source Specification, p.3 |
| Memory | 1GB | source Specification, p.3 |
| Wireless | 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz IEEE 802.11b/g/n/ac wireless LAN, Bluetooth 4.2, BLE | source Specification, p.3 |
| Ethernet | Gigabit Ethernet over USB 2.0 (maximum throughput 300Mbps) | source Specification, p.3 |
| USB | 4 x USB 2.0 | source Specification, p.3 |
| Input power | 5V/2.5A DC via micro USB connector; 5V DC via GPIO header | source Specification, p.3 |
| Operating temperature | 0-50 C | source Specification, p.3 |
| GPIO header | 40-pin; the product brief has no pin table (see pinout from schematic) | source Specification, p.3; schematic header J8 |
| GPIO logic level | 3.3 V; pins are not 5 V tolerant (stated for the Raspberry Pi family, not specifically for the 3B+ document) | source GPIO section |

## Power

| | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Supply | 5V/2.5A DC via micro USB connector, or 5V DC via the GPIO header | source Specification, p.3; Warnings, p.4 (external supply rated 5V/2.5 A DC) |

## Pinout

Pin names and numbers read from header J8 of the official reduced schematic. GND pins are inferred from the ground symbols drawn on those pins. The 3.3 V logic level of the GPIO pins is not stated in the product brief or schematic; the Raspberry Pi hardware documentation states it for the Raspberry Pi family.

| Pin | Function | Voltage | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 3V3 | 3.3 V | | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 2 | 5V | 5 V | | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 3 | GPIO2 (SDA1) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 4 | 5V | 5 V | | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 5 | GPIO3 (SCL1) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 6 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 7 | GPIO4 (GPIO_GCLK) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 8 | GPIO14 (TXD0) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 9 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 10 | GPIO15 (RXD0) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 11 | GPIO17 (GPIO_GEN0) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 12 | GPIO18 (GPIO_GEN1) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 13 | GPIO27 (GPIO_GEN2) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 14 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 15 | GPIO22 (GPIO_GEN3) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 16 | GPIO23 (GPIO_GEN4) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 17 | 3V3 | 3.3 V | | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 18 | GPIO24 (GPIO_GEN5) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 19 | GPIO10 (SPI_MOSI) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 20 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 21 | GPIO9 (SPI_MISO) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 22 | GPIO25 (GPIO_GEN6) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 23 | GPIO11 (SPI_SCLK) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 24 | GPIO8 (SPI_CE0_N) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 25 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 26 | GPIO7 (SPI_CE1_N) | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 27 | ID_SD | 3.3 V | Reserved for the ID EEPROM; the schematic says do not use for anything else | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 28 | ID_SC | 3.3 V | Reserved for the ID EEPROM; the schematic says do not use for anything else | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 29 | GPIO5 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 30 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 31 | GPIO6 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 32 | GPIO12 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 33 | GPIO13 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 34 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 35 | GPIO19 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 36 | GPIO16 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 37 | GPIO26 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 38 | GPIO20 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 39 | GND | 0 V | Shown joined to the ground symbols in the schematic (not text-labelled) | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |
| 40 | GPIO21 | 3.3 V | 3.3 V logic; voltage level from the Raspberry Pi documentation, not the schematic | source Reduced schematic Rev 1.0, sheet 1, header J8 |

## Build with it
Project ideas for the Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+. Each link opens Soldr with the prompt filled in; Soldr assigns the pins, checks power and shows how to wire every part.

- [Web temperature and humidity page](https://app.soldr.ai/?prompt=I%20want%20to%20build%20a%20web%20page%20showing%20room%20temperature%20and%20humidity%20with%20a%20Raspberry%20Pi%203%20Model%20B%2B%20and%20a%20DHT22%20sensor): The board has built-in Wi-Fi to serve the page. The Pi has no analog input, and the DHT22 is digital; power it so its data line stays at 3.3 V.
- [A small robot arm controlled from a web page with a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+, a PCA9685 servo driver and SG90 servos](https://app.soldr.ai/?prompt=I%20want%20to%20build%20a%20small%20robot%20arm%20controlled%20from%20a%20web%20page%20with%20a%20Raspberry%20Pi%203%20Model%20B%2B%2C%20a%20PCA9685%20servo%20driver%20and%20SG90%20servos): Servos draw more current than the GPIO pins supply, so they run from their own 5 V supply through the PCA9685 over I2C, with grounds joined.
- [Touchscreen dashboard](https://app.soldr.ai/?prompt=I%20want%20to%20build%20a%20touchscreen%20status%20dashboard%20with%20a%20Raspberry%20Pi%203%20Model%20B%2B%20and%20a%203.5%20inch%20TFT%20touchscreen): The display is made for the Raspberry Pi header; uses the board&#x27;s Wi-Fi to pull in data.
- [RFID sign-in log](https://app.soldr.ai/?prompt=I%20want%20to%20build%20an%20RFID%20sign-in%20logger%20with%20a%20Raspberry%20Pi%203%20Model%20B%2B%20and%20an%20MFRC522%20reader): SPI pins are on the header. Learning project: tell people their card taps are logged and get their consent.

## Common mistakes

- Using a weak supply: the brief says to connect only an external supply rated 5V/2.5 A DC (source: [link](https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/rpi3/raspberry-pi-3-b-plus-product-brief.pdf), Warnings p.4)
- Connecting incompatible devices to the GPIO header: the brief warns this may damage the unit and invalidate the warranty (source: [link](https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/rpi3/raspberry-pi-3-b-plus-product-brief.pdf), Warnings p.4)
- Using pins 27 and 28 as ordinary GPIO: the schematic reserves ID_SD and ID_SC for the HAT ID EEPROM ([source](https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/rpi3/raspberry-pi-3-b-plus-reduced-schematics.pdf))

## Not covered by the official source

- GPIO voltage level is not in the product brief or schematic; taken from the Raspberry Pi hardware documentation (family-level statement). Per-pin current limits not stated.
- Typical current draw is not given in the brief.
- The 5V/2.5A figure in the brief is the supply rating, not a measured consumption.

## Sources

- [link](https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/rpi3/raspberry-pi-3-b-plus-product-brief.pdf) (Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ product brief, published October 2025)
- [link](https://datasheets.raspberrypi.com/rpi3/raspberry-pi-3-b-plus-reduced-schematics.pdf) (Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ reduced schematics, Rev 1.0)
